Important EU Funding Programs

Horizon Europe

Horizon Europe is the new framework program for research and innovation. The program has allocated approximately 96 billion euros in research funding for the 2021-2027 period.

Horizon Europe has three main program pillars:

  1. Excellent Science
  2. Global Challenges and European Industrial Competitiveness
  3. Innovative Europe

Funding opportunities range from support for basic research to application-oriented projects and market start-up actions. Target groups include individual researchers, small and larger consortia, and businesses (especially SMEs) for all fields.

Further information on Horizon Europe:

Open calls:

Participant Portal of the European Commission:

The Participant Portal of the European Commission enables users to search for specific calls by keyword. It also provides comprehensive information and the required documents for each call. Registered users can submit funding applications and manage research projects through the portal.


Designed to address the challenges of Europe’s cross-border regions, the Interreg VI Greater Region Programme 2021-2027 has four political goals and 11 sub-goals.

The four main goals are:

  1.  A greener, CO2-free Europe
  2.  A more social Europe
  3.  A Europe that is connected to and in touch with its citizens
  4.  Better governance (Interreg goal)

They also tackle cross-cutting topics such as mobility, innovation, digitalization, and support for SMEs. Learn more. . .

Interreg 6 A

Successor to the Interreg 5a Programme, the new Interreg Deutschland-Danmark 2021-2027 aims to build on and advance the development of German-Danish cooperation through cross-border projects.

The new Interreg 6A Programme is currently under negotiation and is scheduled to be submitted to the European Commission for final approval in summer 2021. 

Learn more about the status of the program ...

Interreg 5 B

Transnational cooperation: Cooperation between national, regional, and municipal partners in transnational cooperation spaces, with the goal of enhancing the territorial integration of these spaces.

Schleswig-Holstein is part of the transnational funding landscape, both in the Baltic Sea Region and the North Sea Region.

The goal of transnational cooperation in the Baltic Sea Region is to strengthen competitiveness through funding for innovation, better accessibility, sustainable development, and reduction of the West-East divide.

The goals of the North Sea Region are similar to those of the Baltic Sea region. Here too, a preeminent goal is to strengthen competitiveness through funding for innovation and better accessibility. In addition, the programs fund preservation of natural resources and the development of attractive cities and regions.

The four priorities in the North Sea Region are:

  1. Thinking growth
  2. Eco innovation
  3. Sustainable North Sea Region
  4. Promoting green transport and mobility

Further basic information on the development and implementation of the new Interreg-5B-Programmes is available on the homepage "Interreg B."

Currently there are no open calls.  Learn more. . .

Interreg Europe

"Interreg-4C has become Interreg-Europe"

Interregional cooperation within the framework of European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) is now being furthered under the name "Interreg Europe."

The goal of Interreg Europe is to help European regions implement regional policies and programs more efficiently, especially with the EU funds and financing instruments allocated for growth and employment. Interreg Europe aims to encourage and support the exchange of experience, knowledge, and good practices between relevant stakeholders from various European regions.

There are four thematic priorities:

  1. Promoting research and technological developments and innovation
  2. Strengthening SME competitiveness
  3. Supporting and funding the transition to a low-carbon economy
  4. Protecting the environment and promoting resource efficiency

Basic information on the development and implementation of the new Interreg-5A-Programmes is available on the Interreg 4 C homepage.

Currently there are no open calls. Learn more. . .


Erasmus+ is the current program name; it replaces the former working title "Erasmus for all"

The new program "Erasmus+" replaces the Lifelong Learning Programme (Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Comenius, and Grundtvig) and includes the "Youth in Action" programs as well as the European Union’s international higher education programs with third countries (Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Alfa, Edulink, and the programme for cooperation with industrialised countries).

The education abroad programs "Erasmus," "Leonardo da Vinci," and "Comenius" continue to run under their existing names.

There are also new support measures for the area of sports.

The following webpages give further information about the development and integration of Erasmus+:

Download: Kurzinfo Erasmus+.pdf (Source: IB.SH Europa – Enterprise Europe Network)

The EUF International Center is responsible for Erasmus cooperation arrangements and is happy to answer any questions.

Europe for Citizens

The program "Europe for Citizens" seeks to increase the engagement of ordinary citizens, reminding people of their shared history and values while simultaneously strengthening European citizenship and civic involvement. By participating in the program, citizens can ensure that their voices are heard.

The following websites give more information about the development and integration of Europe for Citizens (EFC):

Creative Europe

The program "Creative Europe" protects and supports linguistic and cultural diversity and strengthens the competitiveness of the cultural and creative sectors. It helps the cultural and creative industries utilize the opportunities of the "digital age," opens up new international opportunities, markets, and audience segments, and enables these sectors to maximize their potential and further advance the Europe 2020 goals for sustainable growth, employment, and social cohesion. Creative Europe builds on the success of the MEDIA Programme, the MEDIA Mundus Programme, and the Culture Programme.

The following websites give more information about development and integration of "Creative Europe":