The Seminar

In the academic year 2016/2017, Christian Forstner, Johannes-Geert Hagmann and Peter Heering started a course Material Culture in the History of Physics. This course addressed historians of science, museum staff and future physics teachers on the master and early graduate level. In this course, the students were introduced to object oriented research, material culture studies and experimental history of science. The course consisted in three phases: it started with an online seminar where the participants worked with introductory texts to as well as case studies from the three fields. The second part was a seminar at the Deutsches Museum Munich where the participants had the opportunity to intensify and reflect the topics from the first part with practical activities. At the end of the second part, the participants had some time to apply their competences on an object from the museum’s collection. This led directly into the third part; the students had to prepare an essay on the object they had analyzed. This essay served at the same time as the examination assignment.

This first course turned out to be very successful at least on three levels: The feedback of the participants, the satisfaction of the organizers, and the outcome in form of the essays. As a result, a slightly expanded course was offered in the following year, this time addressing an international participation and therefore in English language. Moreover, Richard Kremer fortunately agreed to participate in teaching this course.

Due to the quality of some essays from the first year, we decided to make them accessible to the public by offering the students the opportunity to publish their essays online. For this purpose, besides grading the essays, those which were submitted were also peer reviewed. As a result of this process, six papers from the second year (plus two from the first year) were accepted for publication. These papers are found on this website.

If you want to refer to one of these papers, use a reference such as: [Author Name], [Title]; Preprint from the Workshop "Material Culture in the History of Physics, Deutsches Museum Munich", [link] [accessed]

The seminar Material Culture in the History of Physics was generously supported by the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation.

Essays

Das Seminar

Im akademischen Jahr 2016/2017 haben Christian Forstner, Johannes-Geert Hagmann und Peter Heering einen von ihnen entwickelten Kurs Materielle Kultur in der Geschichte der Physik angeboten. Dieses Kursangebot richtete sich an Studierende und Promovierende der Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Lehramtsstudierende aus dem Bereich der Physik und an Personen, die ein Volontariat an einem naturwissenschaftlichen Museum absolvieren. Zentrale Themen in diesem Kurs waren Objektforschung, Studien zur materiellen Kultur und experimentelle Wissenschaftsgeschichte. Der Kurs bestand aus drei Teilen: Im ersten wurden von den Teilnehmer*innen einführende Materialien sowie Fallstudien aus den drei relevanten Gebieten erarbeitet. Der zweite Teil war ein Präsenzseminar, das am Deutschen Museum in München stattfand und in dessen Rahmen die theoretisch erarbeiteten Konzepte an praktischen Beispielen vertieft und reflektiert wurden. Am Ende des zweiten Teils konnten die Teilnehmer*innen ihre Kompetenzen an einem Objekt aus der Sammlung des Deutschen Museums in Kleingruppen erproben. Dieser Abschluss des zweiten Teils des Moduls führte unmittelbar in den dritten: Hier mussten die Teilnehmer*innen individuell ein Essay zu dem von ihnen untersuchten Objekt verfassen. Dieses Essay dienste zugleich als Modulprüfung.

Dieser erste Kurs war in dreierlei Hinsicht sehr erfolgreich: das Feedback der Teilnehmer*innen war ausgesprochen positiv, die Wahrnehmung der Lehrenden des Kursgeschehens und der Kompetenzentwicklung war sehr gut, und die Essays hatten teilweise ein sehr hohes Niveau. Daher wurde ein (entsprechend des Feedbacks der Teilnehmer*innen etwas erweitertes) Seminar im Folgejahr angeboten, allerdings mit einer internationalen Zielgruppe und daher in englischer Sprache. Erfreulicherweise war Richard Kremer bereit, in diesem zweiten Kurs mit zu lehren.

Aufgrund der hohen Qualität einiger Essays aus dem ersten Seminar wurde außerdem überlegt, diese ggf. öffentlich zugänglich zu machen. Aus diesem Grund wurde den Teilnehmer*innen der zweiten Veranstaltung die Option angeboten, das Essay online zu publizieren, sofern es in dieser Hinsicht positiv begutachtet worden ist. Als Ergebnis sind auf dieser Webseite sechs Essays (sowie zwei aus dem ersten Seminar) veröffentlicht.

Falls auf eines dieser Essays verwiesen werden soll, verwenden Sie bitte folgenden Form der Referenz: [Author Name], [Title]; Preprint from the Workshop "Material Culture in the History of Physics", Deutsches Museum Munich; [link] [accessed]

Das Seminar Materielle Kultur in der Geschichte der Physik wurde großzügig von der Wilhelm und Else Heraeus Stiftung unterstützt.

Essays