Staff council (academic)

The academic staff council is elected by and represents middle-ranking university staff members who teach or research and belong to what is known in German as the "Mittelbau" (middle ranks). It does not represent professors or hourly-paid staff ("Lehrbeauftragte").

The staff council represents the interests of its members on specific matters laid down in relevant legislation, usually related to contractual matters. For example, we may represent members interests when hiring, firing, changing pay grades, allocating offices, formulation of workplace descriptions, drafting of employee guidelines and other internal university regulations which affect employee welfare and duties. If you’re not sure whether or not we are the right people to contact for your particular issue, just ask us anyway.


The current members are (in alphabetical order):

  • Dr. Claudia Plinz
  • Dr. Dominique Rosenberg
  • Dr. Marco Hjelm-Madsen
  • Dr. James Grant Lovejoy
  • Dr. Kai-Chr. Tönnsen (chairman)
  • Dr. Leiv Eirik Voigtländer

If you wish to contact us, you can write to anyone on the list.